Whenever you see a reference to the Ben Fong Torres Trio Manual in the title line, prepare to indulge yourself in a rule that is amassed by an opinion that you damn well better agree with or you flirt with the risk of becoming a toolbox. There have been multiple rules made before the blog came into existence that will find a way onto the site if we are unfortunate enough to still see them prevalent in today's society.Ben Fong Torres Manual Chapter 1 Verse 1: Rid yourself of the VH1 Countdown Syndrome.
Please do away with all opinions generated from the "VH1 Countdown" Syndrome. Example: If VH1 has a top 20 countdown of "The Greatest Rock Songs Ever" you can rest assured 12 of those songs will come from the last year whether or not we are in the midst of a musical fucking Rennesaince. It simply comes from being so wrapped up in the moment (due to euphoria, extreme bias, corporate agenda, etc.) that your memory and attention span is reduced to zero. This leaves few options to choose from and results in throwing together a sloppy half-assed statement that the mark has the gaul to call an "opinion".
Where this has become evident in very recent memory is last night's Super Bowl game. Multiple voices throughout our television, internet and sports news resources have hailed that this Super Bowl is the greatest Super Bowl ever to be played. To have the sack to make this highly offensive statement blows my mind. The offenders are Roger Goodell, Peter King, Jason Whitlock, etc. You know the type. For instance I was blessed to not have to listen to the opinions of Jay Mariotti, Bill Plaschke or Skip Bayless today but I would be willing to bet that at least 2 out of 3 made the same damn dumb statement.
Do you see the tool pattern yet? Let me present my case:1. Don't get me wrong, the Steelers against the Cardinals was great. It had a lot of twists, turns, ups and downs but just because it was played last night, doesn't mean that it was the best one ever.
2. I can think of a lot Super Bowl games that were better but we don't have to go back any further than last year to find one superior. The New England Patriots vs. the New York Giants was a far better game/story than this year's equivalent because...
- The New England Patriots at the time of the Super Bowl had won more games in 1 year than any team ever. Oh and they were undefeated too.
- They had one last opponent in the wild card Giants, whose coach and quarterback had been relentlessly criticized by journalists all year. They had to play like a team of All-Pros the last 6 weeks of the season just to get into the playoffs because of their early season incompetence. Because of all of this NOBODY picked the Giants to win.
- It was a hard fought defensive match-up (hey defense is cool too, journalists of the world) throughout the game and then all of the sudden things got bat-shit crazy. Eli Manning with 1:15 left in the game on 3rd and 5 dropped back to pass, broke no less than 3 tackles, threw a ball down the middle of the field to like his 4th string wide receiver who caught the ball in the midst of 4 defenders by pinning the fucking football to his slippery-ass helmet. This 1 play had the all the highlights that Sportscenter should ever come to expect in 1 show. In case you forgot, you may witness it here:
- Plaxico had a TD catch to win the game with about the same amount of time left on the clock that while not as acrobatic, it was quite similar and arguably more climactic. Just because he almost shot off his nether-region and is a dumb ass now, does not mean that he did not catch the game winning touchdown last year. If you still have the "VH1 Countdown" syndrome and have forgotten, then observe the following:
3. That all but sealed the ultimate modern day David v. Goliath when the meager New York Giants broke it off in the mighty New England Patriots. If you got all wrapped up in my modest story-telling, thought that I was telling a fairy tale and forgot what I was talking about... THIS WAS LAST FUCKING YEAR AND IT WAS BETTER THAN THIS YEAR'S SUPER BOWL!
4. I could go on and on and bring up a lot of other arguments as to which was the best Super Bowl ever but I don't have to anymore. I just told you how it was. For God's sake I'm a Cowboys fan and just devoted my maiden blog entry to the scum of the earth New York football Giants. So for all you douche bag journalists and weak-minded consumer followers, pay attention to what is going on and keep everything in perspective please. We don't need a new all-powerful messiah from the damn football championship game every year and we don't have to imagine that what we just experienced was the finest moment in the history of the world. There is no need to try and trick those of us who actually remember highlights of the past because we are smarter than thou.